Skip Navigation
small NCES header image
National Assessment of Adult Literacy (NAAL)

State Literacy -> Participants

Cost of Participation

States that chose to participate in SAAL paid for any additional, state-specific costs associated with statewide planning, sampling, data collection, analyses, and reporting. They entered into contracts with NCES contractors Westat, which conducted sampling and data collection, and the American Institutes for Research, which conducted data analysis, reporting, and dissemination activities. For a sample size of 1,000 attempted assessments, each state paid $725,000 ($625,000 for data collection and $100,000 for analysis and reporting).

2003 SAAL State Participants

Six states participated in individual statewide assessments. Each state was provided with a detailed estimate on the literacy rates within their state. Click here to view the state results.

SAAL State Contacts

If you would like to obtain more information about your state’s assessment, please contact your SAAL representative (as of October 2005) listed below.

Kentucky

Reecie Stagnolia
Deputy Commissioner
Cabinet for Workforce Development
Department for Adult Ed and Literacy
Capital Plaza Tower, Third Floor
500 Mero Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502 564 5114
Fax: 502 564 5436
reecie.stagnolia@ky.gov

Cheryl King
Associate Vice President
Adult Education
Phone: 502 573 1555 ext 257
cheryld.king@mail.state.ky.us

Missouri

Don Eisinger
Coordinator
Adult Education and Employment Training Unit
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Ed
Phone: 573 751 2571
don.eisinger@dese.mo.gov

Ron Jewell
Director, Adult Education and Literacy
Adult Education
Phone: 573 526 4822
ron.jewell@dese.mo.gov

Maryland

Patricia Bennett
Branch Chief
Adult Education and Literacy Services
Maryland Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410 767 0168
pbennett@msde.state.md.us

New York

Thomas Orsini
Team Leader
Adult Education and Family Literacy Team
Office of Workforce Development & Continuing Ed
Workforce Development Technical Support Team
89 Washington Avenue, Room 307 EB
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: 518 474 8940
TORSINI@MAIL.NYSED.GOV2801

Massachusetts

Bob Bickerton
Director
350 Main Street
Malden, MA 02148-5023
Phone: 781 338 3000
rbickerton@doe.mass.edu

Donna Cornellier
Adult and Community Learning
Phone: 781 338 3814
dcornellier@doe.mass.edu

Oklahoma

Tom White
Assistant State Superintendent
Federal Fiscal
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-6205
Phone: 405 521 4893
tom_white@mail.sde.state.ok.us

Linda Young
Director
Lifelong Learning
Oklahoma State Department of Education
Phone: 405 521 3321
linda_young@sde.state.ok.us

Top


Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey

or

No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.