Skip Navigation
Title:  Reading Mastery/SRA/McGraw-Hill
Description: Reading Mastery is a direct instruction program designed to provide explicit, systematic instruction in English language reading. Reading Mastery is available in two versions, Reading Mastery Classic levels I and II (for use in grades K3) and Reading Mastery Plus, an integrated reading-language program for grades K6. The program begins by teaching phonemic awareness and sound-letter correspondence and moves into word and passage reading, vocabulary development, comprehension, and building oral reading fluency. Later lessons continue to emphasize accurate and fluent decoding while teaching students the skills necessary to read and comprehend and to learn from expository text. Lessons are designed to be fast-paced and interactive. Students are grouped by similar reading level, based on program placement tests. The program includes placement assessments and a continuous monitoring system. Although not designed exclusively for English language learners, Reading Mastery can be used with this group of students.
Online Availability:
Cover Date: September 2006
Web Release: September 28, 2006
Publication #: WWC IRELRM06
Center/Program: WWC
Type of Product: Intervention Report
Questions: For questions about the content of this Intervention Report, please contact:
NCES WebMaster.