Skip Navigation

Appendix C. Personnel

Members of the Math Content Group

Alfred Manaster received a Ph.D. in mathematics from Cornell University in 1965. His research specialty was mathematical logic. He was a mathematics instructor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1965 to 1967. He has been a member of the faculty of the Mathematics Department at the University of California since 1967. Professor Manaster joined the Mathematics Diagnostic Testing Project (MDTP) in 1980 and has served as one of its directors since 1985. He is one of the three co-directors of the University of California, San Diego, Doctoral Program in Mathematics and Science Education, which was established in 1993 and is a joint program with San Diego State University.

Phillip Emig was awarded a Ph.D. in mathematics in 1962 by the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). His dissertation was on a topic from the theory of Riemann surfaces. Until 1963 he remained as a research associate in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at UCLA, after which he spent a postdoctoral year as an Alexander von Humboldt Scholar at the Friedrich-Wilhelm University in Bonn, Germany. In 1964 he came to the California State University, Northridge, where he is currently Professor of Mathematics. For 12 of his years at Northridge, Professor Emig served as department chair. During the past 10 years, he has been Faculty Consultant in Mathematics to the Office of the Chancellor of the 21-campus California State University system and a member of the Mathematics Diagnostic Testing Project work group.

Wallace A. Etterbeek received a Ph.D. in mathematics from University of California, Davis, in 1969. His research specialty was algebra. Since 1968 he has concentrated on teaching as a member of the Sacramento State University Mathematics Department. He has also usually taught a course in the San Juan Unified School District since 1972, teaching Title I students in grades 4-6 for about 4 years and then teaching gifted and talented students in those grades and in high school. Professor Etterbeek was a founding member of the MDTP workgroup in 1978. He has served as MDTP's statistician since 1981. He was a member of the first California State University Entry-Level Mathematics (ELM) test development committee.

Barbara Griggs Wells received a B.S. in mathematics from Howard University and has spent the last 30 years teaching mathematics in the District of Columbia and California public schools--evenly divided between junior and senior high school settings. In 1990-91 the UCLA Mathematics Department awarded her the Visiting High School Lecturer position. She recently received a Ph.D. in education from UCLA with a specialty in administration, curriculum and teaching studies emphasizing mathematics. Her active participation in the MDTP began in 1992, including service as a site director and school liaison coordinator. She is presently a member of the clinical faculty of the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at UCLA where she coordinates the preservice teacher education of secondary mathematics teachers.


List of Participants/Consultant

Chief Videographer
Coordination in Germany
Primary Consultant

Jürgen Baumert

Rainer Lehmann

Toshio Sawada

Scott Rankin

Manfred Lehrke

Jan Poerschke

James Hiebert


Administrative Support
Technical Support
Computer Programming

Ron Kelley

Andrea Lindenthal

Tadayuki Miyashiro


Reneé Beasley

Roberta Burroughs

Susan Day

Latrice Green

José Ivy

Michelle Elliott


Aviram Carmi

Alyne Delaney

Tina Gill

Readius Hinton

Gundula Huber

Shirley Huang

Bennie Terry


Rod Kent

Ken Mendoza

Research Assistants

Clea Fernandez

Alice Gill

Herbert Ginsberg

Nicolas Hobar

Christine Keitel

Magdalene Lampert

Gilah Leder

Shin-Ying Lee

Sue Ann McGraw

Kevin Miller

Eiji Morita

Michael Neubrand

Johanna Neubrand

Yukari Okamoto


Michelle Perry

Tom Rohlen

William Schmidt

Sheila Sconiers

Hidetada Shimizu

Yoshinori Shimizu

Kenneth Travers

Diana Wearne

Math Content Group

Phillip Emig

Wallace Etterbeek

Alfred Manaster

Barbara Wells



Adina Ambar

Annette Aryanpour

Christine Bellordre

Dennis Childs

Sonal Chokshi

Reagan Curtis

Emi Yamaya Curtis

Stephen De Berry

Alberto de Leon

Timothy Edwards

Kiyoshi Fujimori

Cecilia Fung

Friday Genovesi

Raina Grigg

Malcom Harris

Thomas Haag

German Hercules

Emily Hsui

Sheldon Hunt

Maki Inamine

Sydjea Johnson

Mikako Kawai

Eileen Kersting

Corinna Koehnenkamp

Ken Kuwabara

Dinal Lossone

Kimberly Lee

Hiroko Lippey

Chia-Tzn Luo

William Lynch

Helen Mao

Kathryn McEwen

Kyoko Ito Meyerson

Satomi Mishina

Gregory Miller

Miri Nakamura

Tsuyoshi Oyabu

Carol Park

Christine Ringel

Simone Robinson

Eric Rodriguez

Derreck Sagara

Julie Miller Salmon

Marcelo Serrano

Natalia Serrano

Ziba Shadjaani

Richard Shannon

Lynda Stone

Lalita Suzuki

Vandana Thadani

Margaret Tsubakiyama

Makoto Yoshida




Questions, problems or comments with this website? Contact