|Table 5.3. Types of state and district requirements for kindergarten entrance and attendance, by state: 2014|
district to offer
district to offer
|Alabama||6||5 on or before 9/01||Yes||No||No|
|Alaska||7||5 on or before 9/01||No||No||No|
|Arizona||6||5 before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Arkansas||5||5 on or before 8/01||Yes||No||Yes|
|California||6||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Colorado||6 on or before 8/01||5 on or before 10/1||No||Yes||No|
|Connecticut||5||5 on or before 1/01||3||No||Yes||Yes|
|Delaware||5||5 on or before 8/31||Yes||No||Yes|
|District of Columbia||5||5 on or before 9/30||Yes||No||Yes|
|Florida||6||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Georgia||6||5 by 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Hawaii||6 by 1/01||5 on or before 7/31||No||Yes||No|
|Idaho||7 by first day of school||5 on or before 9/01||No||No||No|
|Illinois||6 on or before 9/01||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Indiana||7||5 on 8/01||No||Yes||No|
|Iowa||6 by 9/15||4||5 on or before 9/15||No||Yes||No|
|Kansas||7||5 on or before 8/31||No||Yes||No|
|Kentucky||6 by 10/01||5||5 by 10/01||No||Yes||No|
|Louisiana||7||5 on or before 9/30||Yes||No||Yes|
|Maine||7||5 on or before 10/15||No||Yes||No|
|Maryland||5||5 on or before 9/01||Yes||No||Yes|
|Massachusetts||6||Local education agency (LEA) option||No||Yes||No|
|Michigan||6 by 12/01||5 by 10/01||6||No||Yes||No|
|Minnesota||7||5 on or before 9/01||7||No||Yes||No|
|Mississippi||6 by 9/01||5 on or before 9/01||Yes||No||No|
|Missouri||7||5 before 8/01||No||Yes||No|
|Montana||7||5 on or before 9/10||No||Yes||No|
|Nebraska||6 by 1/01||5 on or before 7/31||No||Yes||No|
|Nevada||7||5 on or before 9/30||No||Yes||8||Yes|
|New Hampshire||6||LEA option||No||Yes||No|
|New Jersey||6||LEA option||9||No||10||No||No||11|
|New Mexico||5 by 9/01||5 before 9/01||No||Yes||Yes|
|New York||6||LEA option||12||No||No||No|
|North Carolina||7||5 on or before 8/31||Yes||No||No||13|
|North Dakota||7||5 before 8/01||No||Yes||No|
|Oklahoma||5||5 on or before 9/01||Yes||No||Yes|
|Oregon||7||15||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Rhode Island||6||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||Yes|
|South Carolina||5||5 on or before 9/01||Yes||No||Yes|
|South Dakota||6||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||Yes||16|
|Tennessee||6||5 on or before 8/15||Yes||No||Yes|
|Texas||6||5 on or before 9/01||No||Yes||No|
|Utah||6||5 before 9/02||No||Yes||No|
|Virginia||5||5 on or before 9/30||No||Yes||Yes|
|Washington||8||5 by 8/31||No||18||Yes||No|
|West Virginia||6||5 by 9/01||Yes||No||Yes|
|Wisconsin||6||5 on or before 9/01||20||No||Yes||No|
|Wyoming||7||5 on or before 9/15||No||Yes||19||No|
|† Not applicable.
1 Specific date at which compulsory age is reached is included only if specified in statute.
2 The total reflects the number of "Yes" responses in the column.
3 In Connecticut, children must be 5 years of age on or before January 1 of the current school year.
4 In Iowa, children enrolled in preschool programs (4 years of age on or before September 15) are considered to be of compulsory school attendance age.
5 By August 1, 2017, Kentucky's compulsory school age will change to 6 years of age and kindergarten entrance date will change to 5 years of age.
6 Michigan's kindergarten entrance date will change to 5 years of age by September 1 in 2015–16.
7 School boards may adopt an early admissions policy.
8 In certain school districts, the lowest performing schools with the highest numbers of limited-English-proficient students will start offering full-day kindergarten and free prekindergarten programs.
9 New Jersey schools may admit children aged 4–5, and they must admit children aged 5–6. The cut-off date must be after October 1.
10 The Abbott district is required to offer full-day kindergarten.
11 Children are required to attend full-day kindergarten in the Abbott district.
12 New York students must be between the ages of 4–6.
13 The initial point of entry into the school is kindergarten, but a principal may override this for an exceptionally mature student and place the child in first grade.
14 Districts in Ohio may choose to set the cut-off date for August 1 or September 30, or by the beginning of a school term (if it starts after September 30).
15 The compulsory school age in Oregon is 5-6, if the child has been enrolled in public school.
16 Students in Pennsylvania may not be younger than 4 for Kindergarten-4 (K-4) and not younger than 5 for Kindergarten-5 (K-5).
17 All children in South Dakota must attend kindergarten before age 7.
18 Local education agencies in Vermont may choose to set the kindergarten entrance date between August 31 and January 1.
19 In Washington, full-day kindergarten was phased in beginning in the 2012–13 school year, starting with the highest-poverty schools. Statewide implementation will be achieved by 2017–18.
20 Wisconsin kindergarten entrance age is 5 on or before September 1, or age 4 on or before September 1 for 4-year-old kindergarten.
21 Wyoming statute requires one full-day program per district. SOURCE: Education Commission of the States, Kindergarten Online Database: State Kindergarten Policies, retrieved January 8, 2015 from http://www.ecs.org/html/educationissues/kindergarten/kdb_intro_sf.asp. Data Source.