Skip Navigation

Table 2.4. Science statewide assessments in grades 3-8, by state: 2015–16

State Assessment name Grade administered
Alabama ACT Aspire 5, 7
Alaska Standard Based Assessment (SBA)
Arizona Arizona's Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) Science
Arkansas ACT Aspire
California California Standards Test 3, 8
Colorado Colorado Measures of Academic Success (CMAS) science assessment
Connecticut Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) 5,8
Delaware Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) Science
District of Columbia DC Next Generation Science Assessment 5,8
Florida Statewide Science Assessment 5,8
Georgia Georgia Milestones Assessment System
Hawaii Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) in science
Idaho Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT) Science
Illinois Illinois State Science Assessment
Indiana Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress Plus (ISTEP+) Science 4,6
Iowa Iowa Assessments 5, 8
Kansas Kansas Assessment Program
Kentucky Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress Norm-Referenced Test (K-PREP NRT) for science
Louisiana Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (LEAP) or integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) for science
Maine Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) for science 5, 8
Maryland Maryland School Assessment (MSA) for science 5, 8
Massachusetts Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) for science and technology/engineering
Michigan Michigan Student Test of Educational Progress (M-STEP) 4,7
Minnesota Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) 5,8
Mississippi Mississippi Science Test (MST2) 5,8
Missouri Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) grade-level assessment in science 5,8
Montana Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) in science
Nebraska Nebraska State Accountability Tests (NeSA)
Nevada Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) in science
New Hampshire New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Science
New Jersey New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) Science
New Mexico Standards Based Assessment (SBA) in science 4, 7
New York New York State Elementary-Level Science Test and New York State Intermediate-Level Science Test 4, 8
North Carolina North Carolina READY End-of-Grade Tests of Science
North Dakota North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) for science
Ohio Ohio's Next Generation Assessments in science
Oklahoma Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests in science
Oregon Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) for science
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) Science 4, 8
Rhode Island New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Science
South Carolina South Carolina Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (SCPASS) in science 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
South Dakota South Dakota State Test of Educational Progress — Science (DSTEP Science) 5, 8
Tennessee Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program Achievement Test (TCAP)
Texas State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) Science 5,8
Utah Student Assessment of Growth and Excellence (SAGE) Science 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Vermont New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Science
Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) for science 5, 8
Washington Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) 5,8
West Virginia WESTEST 2 Science
Wisconsin Wisconsin Forward Exam 4,8
Wyoming Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
— Not available.
NOTE: States do not assess students in science yearly. The science assessments listed in this table are the ones that the state administers to students in appropriate grades.
SOURCE: Achieve, States' Grades 3-8 Science Assessment(s) in 2015–16, retrieved February 8, 2016 from Data Source.