Skip Navigation

Table of Contents  |  Search Technical Documentation  |  References

Reading Achievement Levels

The process of developing achievement levels involves the judgments of informed, well-qualified people from throughout the nation and its territories. Approximately 20 persons served on each of three grade level panels to develop NAEP reading achievement levels. These 60 people included teachers (about 55 percent), other educators (about 15 percent), and members of the general public (about 30 percent). To the extent possible, the panels were proportionally representative of the nation's population with respect to region, race/ethnicity, and gender.

The panels for reading were convened in August 1992, and the National Assessment Governing Board set the reading NAEP achievement levels in May 1993. The achievement levels set for the reading assessment were used in reporting results for the 1992 assessment through the 2007 assessment. The Board has developed a framework to be implemented in the 2009 assessment. At that time, new achievement levels may be developed and set.

Reports provide details on the reading achievement levels:

NOTE: As provided by law, the achievement levels are to be used on a trial basis and should be interpreted with caution. However, members of both NCES and the National Assessment Governing Board believe that these performance standards are useful for understanding trends in student achievement.

Last updated 18 March 2009 (RF)

Printer-friendly Version