Federal Statistical Agencies

The programs that provide essential statistical information for use by governments, businesses, researchers, and the public are carried out by agencies spread across several departments and independent agencies. The Federal statistical agencies listed below are designated as “principal statistical agencies.”

Bureau of Economic Analysis (Commerce Department)
Bureau of Justice Statistics (Justice Department)
Bureau of Labor Statistics (Labor Department)
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (Transportation Department)
Economic Research Service (Agriculture Department)
National Agricultural Statistics Service (Agriculture Department)
National Center for Education Statistics (Education Department)
National Center for Health Statistics (Health and Human Services Department)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation)
Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics (Social Security Administration)
Statistics of Income (Treasury Department)
U.S. Census Bureau (Commerce Department)
U.S. Energy Information Administration (Energy Department)