Skip Navigation
small NCES header image
American Community Survey 2006

Select a Topic

PDF File For more information on viewing PDF files

The U.S. Census Bureauļæ½s American Community Survey (ACS) is part of the 2010 Decennial Census Program. The ACS is a nationwide survey that provides annually updated, detailed demographic, socioeconomic, and housing information for communities across the United States and Puerto Rico.

By its sample design, the ACS accumulates independent monthly sample data as time passes. This allows for the release of estimates for smaller geographic areas once enough sample has been accumulated.

Up Top

ACS Release Strategy

This chart explains the ACS release strategy, as it will unfold over the coming years.

Data Product Population Threshold Year of Data Release
  2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
1-year Estimates 65,000+ 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
3-year Estimates 20,000+     2005–
5-year Estimates All Areas         2005–

Up Top

The 2006 ACS will provide data for a set of geographic areas with a total population of 65,000 or more. The annual sample size expanded from about 800,000 addresses in 1,240 counties in 2004 to approximately 3 million addresses in 3,141 U.S. counties in 2006. As a result, the 2006 ACS data provide information for many geographic areas that did not receive ACS data in previous years.

ACS 2006 Geography Coverage

The table below shows the geographic levels covered by the 2006 data release with an estimate of the total number of geographic areas that will receive the 2006 ACS data:

United States - Total 7,045
Nation 1
Census Regions 4
Census Divisions 9
States (and District of Columbia) 51
Counties 783
Minor Civil Divisions (townships, villages, etc.) 187
Places (cities, towns, and Census designated places) 504
Alaska Native Regional Corporation 3
American Indian and Alaska Native areas 14
School Districts 922
Urban Areas 379
Congressional Districts (including District of Columbia) 436
Metropolitan and Micropolitan Areas 499
Principal Cities of Metropolitan and Micropolitan Areas 350
New England City and Town Areas (NECTAs) 25
Principal Cities of NECTAs 20
Combined Statistical Areas (Metropolitan and NECTA) 131
Metropolitan and NECTA Divisions 38
Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs) 2,068

Up Top

Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey


No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.