Skip Navigation
small NCES header image

U.S. Steering Committee

The U.S. Steering Committee is responsible for assisting the National Research Coordinator in guiding the development of the CivEd study and reports in the United States. The U.S. Steering Committee is chaired by Dr. Carole Hahn, National Research Coordinator for the CivEd study for the United States. The full list of U.S. Steering Committee members is provided below, along with their affiliations.


Carole Hahn
Division of Educational Studies
Emory University
North Decatur Building
1784 North Decatur Road
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: (404) 727-0604
Fax: (404) 727-2799

Additional U.S. Steering Committee Members:

Patricia Avery, University of Minnesota
Margaret Branson, Center for Civic Education
Gloria Contreras, University of North Texas
Sheila Mann, American Political Science Association
Pat Nickell, University of Georgia
Richard Niemi, University of Rochester
Valerie Pang, San Diego State University
Walter Parker, University of Washington
John Patrick, Indiana University
Gordon Ambach, Ex Officio, Council of Chief State School Officers

Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey


No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.