Skip Navigation
small NCES header image

Countries - IALS

Eight countries from around the world participated in IALS in 1994.
Those countries are:

Canada The Netherlands Switzerland
Germany Poland United States
Ireland Sweden  

In 1996 five additional countries or territories participated in IALS.
Those countries are:

Australia Great Britain Northern Ireland
Belgium (Flemish) New Zealand  

Finally, in 1998 nine additional countries or regions participated in IALS.
Those countries are:

Chile Finland Norway
Czech Republic Hungary Slovenia
Denmark Italy Switzerland
(Italian-speaking region)

Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey


No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.
National Center for Education Statistics -
U.S. Department of Education