Skip Navigation
small NCES header image

Table 2.3. English/Language arts statewide assessment name, grade administered, and assessment type, by state: 200910

State Assessment name Grade(s) administered Assessment type
Alabama Alabama High School Graduation Exam 11 Criterion-referenced
  Alabama Reading Test (augmented with Stanford Achievement
Test, 10th edition )
3-8 Criterion-referenced,
Alaska Standards-Based Assessments 3-10 Criterion-referenced
Arizona Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced
Arkansas Arkansas Augmented Benchmark Examinations in Literacy
(Reading and Writing)
3-8 Criterion-referenced,
  Arkansas Grade 11 Literacy (Reading and Writing) Exams 11 Criterion-referenced
California California High School Exit Exam 9-11 Criterion-referenced
  California Standards Tests 2-11 Criterion-referenced
  Standards-Based Tests in Spanish 2-11 Criterion-referenced
Colorado Colorado ACT 11 Norm-referenced
  Colorado Student Assessment Program 3-10 Criterion-referenced
Connecticut Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) 10 Criterion-referenced,
  Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) 3-8 Criterion-referenced,
Delaware Delaware Student Testing Program 2-11 Norm-referenced,
District of Columbia District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced
Florida Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test 3-10, retakes 11-12
(reading); 4, 8, 10
Georgia Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) 1-8 Criterion-referenced
  End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) 6-8, 9-12 Criterion-referenced
  Georgia Kindergarten Inventory of Developmental Skills Kindergarten Criterion-referenced
Hawaii Hawaii State Reading Assessment: Terra Nova 3-8, 10 Norm-referenced,
Idaho Idaho Reading Indicator K-3 Criterion-referenced (performance)
  Idaho State Achievement Test 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced (multiple choice)
Illinois Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) 3-8 Augmented norm-referenced
  Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) 11 Augmented criterion-referenced
Indiana Graduation Qualifying Exam 10 Criterion-referenced
  Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress Plus (ISTEP+) 3-9 Criterion-referenced
Iowa Iowa Tests of Basic Skills (ITBS) 3-8 Norm-referenced
  Iowa Test of Education Development 9-11 Norm-referenced
Kansas Kansas State Assessment 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
Kentucky Kentucky Core Content Test 3-8, 10, 11 Criterion-referenced
Louisiana Integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) 3, 5-7, 9 Augmented norm-referenced
  Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (LEAP) 4, 8 Criterion-referenced
Maine New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Reading 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT) 10, 11 Norm-referenced
Maryland Maryland School Assessments (MSA) 3-12 Criterion-referenced
Massachusetts Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) 3-11 Criterion-referenced
Michigan Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  Michigan Merit Examination 11 Augmented norm-referenced
Minnesota Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments-Series II 3-8, 10, 11 Criterion-referenced
Mississippi Mississippi Curriculum Test 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  Subject Area Testing Program, High School End-of-Course Test: English II 9-12 Criterion-referenced
(multiple choice)
Missouri End-of-Course: English II 9-12 Criterion-referenced
  Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) 3-8, 10, 11 Augmented norm-referenced,
Montana Montana Comprehensive Assessment System (MontCAS) 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced
Nebraska Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
Nevada Criterion-Referenced Tests 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  High School Proficiency Examination in Reading 10-12 Criterion-referenced
New Hampshire New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Reading 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
  New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) Writing 5, 8, 11 Criterion-referenced
New Jersey High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) 11 Criterion-referenced
  New Jersey Skills & Knowledge Assessment 3-8 Criterion-referenced
New Mexico New Mexico School Assessment Program 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
New York English Language Assessment Tests 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  High School Regents Examination 9-12 Criterion-referenced
North Carolina End-of-Course Exams (English I) 9-12 Criterion-referenced
  End-of-Grade Assessment 3-8 Criterion-referenced
North Dakota North Dakota State Assessment 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
Ohio Ohio Achievement Test 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  Ohio Graduation Test 10 Criterion-referenced
Oklahoma Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests 3-8, End-of-Instruction
(high school)
Oregon Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills Online-Reading 3-12 Criterion-referenced
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
Rhode Island New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
South Carolina End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) (when course taken for credit) 8-12 Criterion-referenced
  Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced
South Dakota Achievement Series Assessments 1-12 Criterion-referenced
Tennessee Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program Achievement Tests 3-8 Criterion-referenced
  Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program End-of-Course 9-12 Criterion-referenced
Texas Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) 3-11 Criterion-referenced
Utah Utah Core Curriculum 3-11 Criterion-referenced
Vermont New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
Virginia End-of-Course Assessments 9-12 Criterion-referenced
  Standards of Learning Assessments (SOL) 3-8 Criterion-referenced
Washington High School Proficiency Examination 10-12 Criterion-referenced
  Measurements of Student Progress 3-8 Criterion-referenced
West Virginia West Virginia Educational Standards Tests (WESTEST) 3-11 Criterion-referenced
Wisconsin Wisconsin Knowledge & Concepts Examinations (WKCE) 3-8, 10 Criterion-referenced
Wyoming Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) 3-8, 11 Criterion-referenced
NOTE: Criterion-referenced: An assessment that is aligned with a state's academic standards and thus intended primarily to measure students' performance with respect to those standards, rather than to the performance of their peers nationally. Norm-referenced: An assessment designed primarily to compare the performance of students with that of their peers nationally. Such tests do not generally measure how students perform in relation to a state's own academic standards. Augmented norm-referenced or augmented criterion-referenced: An assessment that includes the addition of specific assessment items to an existing instrument to improve the alignment of the test with a state's standards. Performance: An assessment that requires students to perform a task to demonstrate their knowledge.
SOURCE: Statewide Student Assessment: 200910, Council of Chief State School Officers, 2010. Data Source.

Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey


No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.