Table 151. Ages for compulsory school attendance, special education services for students, policies for yearround schools and kindergarten programs, by state: 1997 and 2000

State	Compulsory attendance, 2000	Compulsory special edu- cation serv- ices, 1997 ¹	Year-round schools, 2000		Provision of kindergarten education, 2000			
			Has policy on year-round schools	Has districts with year- round schools	School districts required to offer		Attendance required	
					Half day	Full day	Half day	Full day
1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Alabama	7 to 16 7 to 16 26 to 16 35 to 17 46 to 18	6 to 21 3 to 22 3 to 22 5 to 21 Birth to 21	X X X	X X X X	x x	x x	x	×
Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia	7 to 16 65 to 16	3 to 21 ⁵ Under 21 3 to 20	_	× _	x x -	_	<u>x</u>	_
Florida Georgia	6 to 18 6 to 16 6 to 18 7 to 16 7 to 16 7 to 16	⁵ Under 21 Under 20 3 to 21 3 to 21 3 to 22	x x x	X X X X X	7 X X	X X X		х
lowa	⁸ 6 to 16 ⁹ 7 to 18 ¹¹ 6 to 16 7 to 17 7 to 17	Under 21 (10) Under 21 3 to 21 125 to 19	x x	X X X X	7 X X	x		
Maryland	5 to 16 6 to 16 6 to 16 13 7 to 18 6 to 17	Under 21 3 to 21 Under 26 Under 22 Birth to 20	x	x x	X X 7X	x	X	
Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire	7 to 16 14 7 to 16 7 to 16 7 to 17 6 to 16	Under 21 3 to 18 Birth to 21 Under 22 3 to 21	x	x x	7 X X X X X			
New Jersey	6 to 16 5 to 18 ¹⁶ 6 to 16 7 to 16 7 to 16	5 to 21 (15) Under 21 5 to 20 17 3 to 20	х	x x x	х	X 18 X	х	
Ohio	6 to 18 5 to 18 7 to 18 8 to 17 6 to 16	Under 22 19 3 and up 3 to 21 6 to 21 3 to 21	x x	X X X	7 X X X X X X X		x x x	
South Carolina	5 to 16 6 to 16 6 to 17 6 to 18 6 to 18	3 to 21 Under 21 3 to 21 ²⁰ 3 to 21 3 to 22	X X	X X X X	x x	X 18 X	x x	×
Vermont	7 to 16 5 to 18 13 8 to 18 6 to 16 6 to 18 26 to 16	3 to 21 2 to 21 ²¹ 3 to 21 5 to 21 Under 21 3 to 21	Х	X X X	X X	18 X 18 X		x x

NOTE: The Education of the Handicapped Act (EHA) Amendments of 1986 make it mandatory for all states receiving EHA funds to serve all 3- to 18-year-old disabled chil-

SOURCE: Council of Chief State School Officers, Key State Education Policies on K-12 Education 2000; Education Commission of the States, "Clearinghouse Notes," August 1997; California Department of Education, Safe Schools and Violence Prevention Office, School Attendance Review Boards, Feb. 2001. (This table was prepared in May 2001.)

¹Most states have an upper age limit whereby education is provided up to a certain age or completion of secondary school, whichever comes first.

²Ages 6 to 16 or 10th grade completion.

Must have turned 17 by October 1.
 At least 16 and have graduated high school or passed California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE) and obtained parental permission.

⁵ Under 21 or until child graduates from high school.

⁶ Must have turned 5 by August 31. ⁷ State requires either half-day or full-day program.

⁸ Must have turned 16 by September 15.

 $^{^9\,\}rm Eligible$ for waiver at 16. $^{^{\circ}}$ 10 School age, to be determined in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the state board.

¹¹ Must have turned 6 by October 1.

¹² Must be 5 before October 1, and not 20 before start of school year, assistance in providing coordination of services from birth to age 6.

¹³ Eligible for waiver.

¹⁴ Age 16 and completion of eighth grade.

¹⁵ School-age unless otherwise provided by law.

¹⁶ Age 16 and completion of school year.

¹⁷ Must not be 21 by September 1.

State requires both half-day and full-day program.
 Children from birth through two are eligible for additional services. Eligibility for special education services cease upon completion of a secondary education program, no age limit.

20 For visually and auditorily impaired individuals under 21.

²¹Student may complete school year if 21st birthday occurs while attending school.