Skip Navigation
small NCES header image

Framework -> Literacy Skills

The 2003 NAAL seeks to improve understanding of the skill differences between adults who are able to perform relatively challenging literacy tasks and those who cannot. NAAL skills stem from the skills-based, operational definition of adult literacy. They are the literacy skills a respondent must possess in order to successfully perform a prose, document, or quantitative task.

The 2003 NAAL literacy tasks require seven types of literacy skills, which are detailed below.

Seven Key Skills Sets

SOURCE: White, S., and McCloskey, M. (forthcoming). Framework for the 2003 National Assessment of Adult Literacy (NCES 2005-531). U.S. Department of Education. Washington, DC: National Center for Education Statistics.


Would you like to help us improve our products and website by taking a short survey?

YES, I would like to take the survey


No Thanks

The survey consists of a few short questions and takes less than one minute to complete.